More sports in brief

first_imgSamuels fined KOLKATA, India (CMC): West Indies batsman Marlon Samuels has been fined 30 per cent of his match fee following a verbal altercation with England all-rounder Ben Stokes during Sunday’s final of the T20 World Cup. Samuels, who was adjudged the Man of the Match for his unbeaten 66-ball 85, was accused of using abusive and offensive language directed at Stokes, a Level One breach. He was found to be in violation of Article 2.1.4 of the ICC Code of Conduct for Players and Player Support Personnel, which relates to “using language or a gesture that is obscene, offensive or insulting during an International Match”. Samuels has admitted the offence and accepted the sanction proposed by Ranjan Madugalle of the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Match Referees. Level One breaches normally carry a minimum penalty of an official reprimand and a maximum penalty of 50 per cent of a player’s match fee. Four WI cricketers in ICC teams KOLKATA, India (CMC): Four West Indies cricketers have been included on the ICC teams of the tournament following the T20 World Cup which ended here on Sunday. Stafanie Taylor has been appointed captain of the women’s team, which also includes her teammate all-rounder Deandra Dottin. The West Indies women captain, who was awarded player of the tournament, has been placed at the helm of a line-up that also comprises four players from New Zealand, two players each from Australia and England, and one player each from Pakistan and South Africa. Spinner Samuel Badree and all-rounder Andre Russell are the two West Indies players in the male line-up led by India’s Virat Kohli, player of the tournament. An ICC statement says the teams were chosen by a select group of former cricket stars and commentators who were given the task of picking a balanced side for all conditions on the basis of performances in the tournament.last_img read more

President Sirleaf Makes New Appointments

first_imgPresident Ellen Johnson Sirleaf has appointed the following individuals to act as Board Members of the Forestry Development Authority pending their formal nomination for confirmation by the Honorable Senate on their return from recess:Forestry Development Authority BoardSister Mary Laurene Brown – Chairman of the BoardMr. Jucontee Thomas Woewiyu – MemberMr. Jonathan Yiah – Member(Sustainable Development Instituterepresenting Civil Society) Mr. John Davies – MemberLiberia Bank for Development & Investment, representing theBusiness Sector)Ministry of Agriculture – Statutory MemberMinistry of Labour – Statutory MemberMinistry of Lands, Mines & Energy – Statutory MemberIn a related development, the President has reconstituted the Board of Directors of the Liberia Airport Authority, as follows:Liberia Airport Authority BoardMr. Binyah Kesselly – Chairman of the BoardMr. Edward Dunn – MemberMs. Amy Clark – MemberMs. Aumuo Abdallah – MemberCaptain Moses K. Weefur (LCAA) – Statutory MemberMinistry of Transport – Statutory MemberManaging Director, LAA – Statutory Member Share this:Click to share on Twitter (Opens in new window)Click to share on Facebook (Opens in new window)last_img read more